← Back to collegesLocated in Montclair, NJ, Montclair State University is a public very large school with roughly 18,376 undergraduates. Montclair State University is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 88%. Among reported majors, Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing shows the strongest outcomes -- $109,167/year in median earnings four years after graduation. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.
Admissions
Admit rate88%
SAT range910–1210
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads18,376
Yield (admits who enroll)20%
Next deadlineNot reported
Cost & outcomes
Cost of attendance$28,305
4-year grad rate64%
Median earnings, 10yr out$61,415
From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Montclair State University weighs in your application
Paying it back
Undergrads taking federal loans41%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out65%
"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.
Majors & earnings
Area, Ethnic, Cultural, Gender, and Group StudiesEthnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$49,429/yr
Biological and Biomedical SciencesBiochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$81,519/yr
Biology, General$67,541/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support ServicesAccounting and Related Services$84,906/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$68,235/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related ProgramsRadio, Television, and Digital Communication$62,999/yr
Communication and Media Studies$59,247/yr
Journalism$53,579/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support ServicesComputer and Information Sciences, General$79,692/yr
EducationTeacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$65,007/yr
English Language and Literature/LettersEnglish Language and Literature, General$45,337/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human SciencesFoods, Nutrition, and Related Services$59,866/yr
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$53,575/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General$52,511/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsRomance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$55,208/yr
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services$42,017/yr
Health Professions and Related ProgramsRegistered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$109,167/yr
Public Health$55,681/yr
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$52,435/yr
Legal Professions and StudiesLegal Professions and Studies, Other$61,036/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesLiberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$51,469/yr
Mathematics and Statistics Multi/Interdisciplinary StudiesMulti/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$58,236/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness StudiesSports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$58,308/yr
Physical SciencesChemistry$74,401/yr
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$65,826/yr
PsychologyPsychology, General$48,464/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions Social SciencesEconomics$66,148/yr
Political Science and Government$60,984/yr
Geography and Cartography$53,285/yr
Sociology$52,053/yr
Anthropology$47,225/yr
Visual and Performing ArtsDesign and Applied Arts$56,176/yr
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$50,790/yr
Music$50,418/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$43,564/yr
Visual and Performing Arts, General$41,156/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$39,248/yr
Dance$39,064/yr
Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.
Campus life
On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity5,079
Typical room charge$11,000
Typical board charge$5,170
Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.
What matters in your application
GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsRequired
From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.
Frequently asked questions
What is Montclair State University's acceptance rate?
Montclair State University in Montclair, NJ admits approximately 88% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.
What SAT score do I need for Montclair State University?
Admitted students at Montclair State University typically score between 910–1210 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).
How much does Montclair State University cost?
Montclair State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $28,305 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.
Does Montclair State University require students to live on campus?
No -- Montclair State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.