College Intel
← Back to colleges

William Paterson University of New Jersey

Public

Wayne, NJ

Visit website ↗

William Paterson University of New Jersey is a public mid-sized school in Wayne, NJ, enrolling about 6,614 undergraduates. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 90% of applicants get in. Health Professions and Related Programs graduates, especially in Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $101,328/year. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate90%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads6,614
Yield (admits who enroll)12%
Next deadlineDec 1, 2026 (EA)

Application deadlines for Fall 2027 entry

  • Early Action: Dec 1, 2026
  • Regular Decision: Jun 1, 2027

Confirm on William Paterson University of New Jersey's own admissions site before you apply.

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$28,4762024-25
In-state tuition & fees$15,7042024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$25,3442024-25
4-year grad rate46%
Median earnings, 10yr out$57,780

Out-of-state students pay $9,640 more per year in tuition and fees (1.6x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Where do you stand against William Paterson University of New Jersey's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what William Paterson University of New Jersey weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans43%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out57%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$71,026/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$71,745/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$70,356/yr
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$66,745/yr
Marketing$61,156/yr
International Business$49,470/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$53,589/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$76,282/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$63,203/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$42,632/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$101,328/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$63,108/yr
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions$51,502/yr
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$46,711/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$58,108/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$54,607/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$71,340/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$55,592/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$48,985/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$70,705/yr
Sociology$53,253/yr
Political Science and Government$48,101/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$44,298/yr
Music$39,553/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,662
Typical room charge$8,420
Typical board charge$4,740

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is William Paterson University of New Jersey's acceptance rate?

William Paterson University of New Jersey in Wayne, NJ admits approximately 90% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does William Paterson University of New Jersey cost?

William Paterson University of New Jersey's total cost of attendance is reported at $28,476 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

What is out-of-state tuition at William Paterson University of New Jersey?

For 2024-25, William Paterson University of New Jersey's published tuition and required fees were $25,344 for out-of-state students and $15,704 for in-state students -- $9,640 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

When is the application deadline for William Paterson University of New Jersey?

William Paterson University of New Jersey's deadlines are Early Action Dec 1, 2026; Regular Decision Jun 1, 2027, per its own published admissions calendar.

Does William Paterson University of New Jersey require students to live on campus?

No -- William Paterson University of New Jersey doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing William Paterson University of New Jersey against another school?

Open the comparison view