College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of Alaska Anchorage

Public

Anchorage, AK

Visit website ↗

University of Alaska Anchorage, in Anchorage, AK, is a public mid-sized school, enrolling around 7,212 students. Among reported majors, Construction Management shows the strongest outcomes -- $103,316/year in median earnings four years after graduation. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required. 14% of undergrads take out federal loans to help pay for it.

Admissions

Admit rateNot reported
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads7,212
Yield (admits who enroll)41%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$24,0962024-25
In-state tuition & fees$7,7382024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$21,3222024-25
4-year grad rate29%
Median earnings, 10yr out$51,871

Out-of-state students pay $13,584 more per year in tuition and fees (2.8x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

University of Alaska Anchorage takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Western Undergraduate Exchange

Students from Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Pacific territories pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition. Each school sets its own requirements, often a GPA minimum, and some majors are left out.

Where do you stand against University of Alaska Anchorage's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of Alaska Anchorage weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans14%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out55%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$53,306/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Construction Management$103,316/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$84,736/yr
Accounting and Related Services$77,625/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$63,122/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Journalism$57,321/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$82,729/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$60,612/yr
Engineering
Mechanical Engineering$98,156/yr
Civil Engineering$85,650/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Engineering-Related Technologies/Technicians$86,227/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$37,326/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$93,001/yr
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions$92,768/yr
Public Health$53,245/yr
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions$49,660/yr
History
History$36,650/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$52,199/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Biological and Physical Sciences$51,889/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$51,858/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$56,698/yr
Science Technologies/Technicians
Science Technologies/Technicians, Other$90,046/yr
Social Sciences
Anthropology$47,547/yr
Transportation and Materials Moving
Air Transportation$80,981/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$44,569/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity996
Typical room charge$7,312
Typical board charge$5,350

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPAConsidered, not required
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

How much does University of Alaska Anchorage cost?

University of Alaska Anchorage's total cost of attendance is reported at $24,096 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does University of Alaska Anchorage offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- University of Alaska Anchorage takes part in the Western Undergraduate Exchange, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at University of Alaska Anchorage?

For 2024-25, University of Alaska Anchorage's published tuition and required fees were $21,322 for out-of-state students and $7,738 for in-state students -- $13,584 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does University of Alaska Anchorage require students to live on campus?

No -- University of Alaska Anchorage doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of Alaska Anchorage against another school?

Open the comparison view