College Intel
← Back to colleges

The University of Montana-Western

Public

Dillon, MT

Visit website ↗

Located in Dillon, MT, The University of Montana-Western is a public small school with roughly 1,198 undergraduates. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 100% of applicants get in. Among reported majors, Business Administration, Management and Operations shows the strongest outcomes -- $47,344/year in median earnings four years after graduation. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate100%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads1,198
Yield (admits who enroll)51%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$21,4032024-25
In-state tuition & fees$6,6702024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$20,1302024-25
4-year grad rate50%
Median earnings, 10yr out$43,229

Out-of-state students pay $13,460 more per year in tuition and fees (3.0x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

The University of Montana-Western takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Western Undergraduate Exchange

Students from Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Pacific territories pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition. Each school sets its own requirements, often a GPA minimum, and some majors are left out.

Where do you stand against The University of Montana-Western's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what The University of Montana-Western weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans34%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out60%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$47,344/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$46,457/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$41,988/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity430
Typical room charge$3,340
Typical board charge$5,088

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is The University of Montana-Western's acceptance rate?

The University of Montana-Western in Dillon, MT admits approximately 100% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does The University of Montana-Western cost?

The University of Montana-Western's total cost of attendance is reported at $21,403 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does The University of Montana-Western offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- The University of Montana-Western takes part in the Western Undergraduate Exchange, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at The University of Montana-Western?

For 2024-25, The University of Montana-Western's published tuition and required fees were $20,130 for out-of-state students and $6,670 for in-state students -- $13,460 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does The University of Montana-Western require students to live on campus?

No -- The University of Montana-Western doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing The University of Montana-Western against another school?

Open the comparison view