College Intel
← Back to colleges

The University of Montana

Public

Missoula, MT

Visit website ↗

Located in Missoula, MT, The University of Montana is a public mid-sized school with roughly 7,488 undergraduates. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 96% of applicants get in. Its highest-earning reported major is Computer and Information Sciences, General (Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services), where graduates report median earnings of $91,943/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate96%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT range23–28
Undergrads7,488
Yield (admits who enroll)19%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$23,570
4-year grad rate47%
Median earnings, 10yr out$44,511

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against The University of Montana's numbers?

Check your chances here

How The University of Montana weighs your application

From The University of Montana's own Common Data Set, 2024-25, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
Class rankConsidered
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresNot considered
Application essayNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesImportant
Talent/abilityImportant
Character/personal qualitiesNot considered
First generationNot considered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceNot considered
State residencyNot considered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workNot considered
Work experienceNot considered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Not considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how The University of Montana actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what The University of Montana weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans41%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out58%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$37,771/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Management Information Systems and Services$73,149/yr
Accounting and Related Services$61,408/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$57,892/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$54,300/yr
Journalism$46,267/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$91,943/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$51,540/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$43,347/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$41,634/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$43,929/yr
History
History$46,408/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Forestry$60,526/yr
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$43,813/yr
Wildlife and Wildlands Science and Management$43,286/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management$51,426/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$46,192/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$46,459/yr
Social Sciences
Sociology$51,708/yr
Political Science and Government$47,341/yr
Anthropology$40,550/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$36,169/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$29,606/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity2,808
Typical room charge$5,108
Typical board charge$6,500

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does The University of Montana look for in applicants?

Per The University of Montana's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates rigor of secondary school record, academic GPA as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is The University of Montana's acceptance rate?

The University of Montana in Missoula, MT admits approximately 96% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What ACT score do I need for The University of Montana?

Admitted students at The University of Montana typically score between 23–28 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does The University of Montana cost?

The University of Montana's total cost of attendance is reported at $23,570 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does The University of Montana require students to live on campus?

No -- The University of Montana doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing The University of Montana against another school?

Open the comparison view