College Intel
← Back to colleges

Montana State University

Public

Bozeman, MT

Visit website ↗

Located in Bozeman, MT, Montana State University is a public large school with roughly 14,451 undergraduates. Montana State University is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 82%. Its highest-earning reported major is Computer Science (Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services), where graduates report median earnings of $111,728/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate82%
SAT range1065–1285
ACT range21–27
Undergrads14,451
Yield (admits who enroll)18%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$25,905
4-year grad rate57%
Median earnings, 10yr out$53,263

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Montana State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Montana State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans31%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out69%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Agriculture, Agriculture Operations, and Related Sciences
Agricultural Business and Management$79,621/yr
Animal Sciences$46,313/yr
Plant Sciences$45,392/yr
Architecture and Related Services
Architectural Sciences and Technology$64,133/yr
Environmental Design$57,668/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences$66,498/yr
Microbiological Sciences and Immunology$60,221/yr
Biology, General$50,711/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business/Commerce, General$71,578/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$111,728/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$46,657/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$45,523/yr
Engineering
Computer Engineering$99,411/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$98,331/yr
Mechanical Engineering$88,653/yr
Industrial Engineering$88,087/yr
Chemical Engineering$87,590/yr
Civil Engineering$82,785/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Construction Engineering Technology/Technician$89,002/yr
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians$80,089/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$47,757/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General$52,702/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services$55,352/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$76,146/yr
History
History$52,187/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$45,975/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$65,731/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Sustainability Studies$41,979/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$48,646/yr
Physical Sciences
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$49,241/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$53,623/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$62,511/yr
Political Science and Government$51,285/yr
Sociology$48,273/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$46,741/yr
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$45,300/yr
Music$39,920/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity4,801
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Montana State University's acceptance rate?

Montana State University in Bozeman, MT admits approximately 82% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Montana State University?

Admitted students at Montana State University typically score between 1065–1285 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for Montana State University?

Admitted students at Montana State University typically score between 21–27 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Montana State University cost?

Montana State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $25,905 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Montana State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Montana State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Montana State University against another school?

Open the comparison view