College Intel
← Back to colleges

Montana State University-Northern

Public

Havre, MT

Visit website ↗

Located in Havre, MT, Montana State University-Northern is a public very small school with roughly 761 undergraduates. Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services graduates, especially in Criminal Justice and Corrections, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $61,748/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required. 29% of undergrads take out federal loans to help pay for it.

Admissions

Admit rateNot reported
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads761
Yield (admits who enroll)Not reported
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$16,578
4-year grad rate42%
Median earnings, 10yr out$49,505

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Montana State University-Northern's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Montana State University-Northern weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans29%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out64%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$61,748/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity300
Typical room charge$2,470
Typical board charge$4,050

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPANot reported
Class rankNot reported
RecommendationsNot reported

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Montana State University-Northern cost?

Montana State University-Northern's total cost of attendance is reported at $16,578 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Montana State University-Northern require students to live on campus?

No -- Montana State University-Northern doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Montana State University-Northern against another school?

Open the comparison view