College Intel
← Back to colleges

Montana State University Billings

Public

Billings, MT

Visit website ↗

Montana State University Billings, in Billings, MT, is a public small school, enrolling around 2,626 students. Its highest-earning reported major is Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities), where graduates report median earnings of $67,304/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required. 28% of undergrads take out federal loans to help pay for it.

Admissions

Admit rateNot reported
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads2,626
Yield (admits who enroll)Not reported
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$20,0542024-25
In-state tuition & fees$7,2802024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$22,8972024-25
4-year grad rate29%
Median earnings, 10yr out$44,296

Out-of-state students pay $15,617 more per year in tuition and fees (3.1x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Montana State University Billings takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Western Undergraduate Exchange

Students from Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Pacific territories pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition. Each school sets its own requirements, often a GPA minimum, and some majors are left out.

Where do you stand against Montana State University Billings's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Montana State University Billings weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans28%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out59%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business/Commerce, General$58,827/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$37,846/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$67,304/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$65,875/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity534
Typical room charge$4,488
Typical board charge$3,860

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPANot reported
Class rankNot reported
RecommendationsNot reported

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Montana State University Billings cost?

Montana State University Billings's total cost of attendance is reported at $20,054 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Montana State University Billings offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Montana State University Billings takes part in the Western Undergraduate Exchange, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Montana State University Billings?

For 2024-25, Montana State University Billings's published tuition and required fees were $22,897 for out-of-state students and $7,280 for in-state students -- $15,617 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does Montana State University Billings require students to live on campus?

No -- Montana State University Billings doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Montana State University Billings against another school?

Open the comparison view