College Intel
← Back to colleges

Tennessee Wesleyan University

Private

Athens, TN

Visit website ↗

Tennessee Wesleyan University is a private very small school in Athens, TN, enrolling about 846 undergraduates. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 69% of applicants get in. Among reported majors, Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing shows the strongest outcomes -- $71,084/year in median earnings four years after graduation. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate69%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT range19–23
Undergrads846
Yield (admits who enroll)34%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$39,440
4-year grad rate46%
Median earnings, 10yr out$45,989

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Tennessee Wesleyan University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Tennessee Wesleyan University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans52%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out62%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$70,782/yr
Marketing$61,564/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$61,103/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$46,925/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$71,084/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$37,118/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity446
Typical room charge$2,230
Typical board charge$6,370

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Tennessee Wesleyan University's acceptance rate?

Tennessee Wesleyan University in Athens, TN admits approximately 69% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What ACT score do I need for Tennessee Wesleyan University?

Admitted students at Tennessee Wesleyan University typically score between 19–23 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Tennessee Wesleyan University cost?

Tennessee Wesleyan University's total cost of attendance is reported at $39,440 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Tennessee Wesleyan University require students to live on campus?

No -- Tennessee Wesleyan University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Tennessee Wesleyan University against another school?

Open the comparison view