College Intel
← Back to colleges

Tennessee State University

Public

Nashville, TN

Visit website ↗

Tennessee State University is a public mid-sized school in Nashville, TN, enrolling about 4,848 undergraduates. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 70% of applicants. Its highest-earning reported major is Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Health Professions and Related Programs), where graduates report median earnings of $92,380/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate70%
SAT range900–11202025-26 CDS
ACT range16–212025-26 CDS
Undergrads4,848
Yield (admits who enroll)Not reported
Next deadlineAug 1, 2027 (RD)

Test scores for the Fall 2025 entering class come from Tennessee State University's own 2025-26 Common Data Set: 30% submitted SAT scores, 67% submitted ACT scores.

Application deadlines for Fall 2027 entry

  • Regular Decision: Aug 1, 2027

Confirm on Tennessee State University's own admissions site before you apply.

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$25,6372024-25
In-state tuition & fees$8,6162024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$22,4162024-25
4-year grad rate33%
Median earnings, 10yr out$42,730

Out-of-state students pay $13,800 more per year in tuition and fees (2.6x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Tennessee State University takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Academic Common Market

Residents of Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia can pay in-state tuition for a specific major that no public college in their home state offers. You need admission to that major and approval from your home state's coordinator.

Where do you stand against Tennessee State University's numbers?

Check your chances here

How Tennessee State University weighs your application

From Tennessee State University's own Common Data Set, 2025-26, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordConsidered
Class rankConsidered
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresVery important
Application essayNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesNot considered
Talent/abilityNot considered
Character/personal qualitiesNot considered
First generationNot considered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceNot considered
State residencyNot considered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workNot considered
Work experienceNot considered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Not considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how Tennessee State University actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Tennessee State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans46%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out31%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Agriculture, Agriculture Operations, and Related Sciences
Agriculture, General$42,503/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$59,855/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$69,414/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$57,083/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$43,121/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$67,292/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$45,886/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Family and Consumer Economics and Related Studies$42,524/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$92,380/yr
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$63,629/yr
Health and Medical Administrative Services$53,231/yr
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other$48,365/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$46,062/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$54,249/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$45,568/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$46,721/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$44,989/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$54,008/yr
Sociology$47,853/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Music$53,483/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$36,332/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity3,660
Typical room charge$4,156
Typical board charge$4,758

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPANot reported
Class rankNot reported
RecommendationsNot reported

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does Tennessee State University look for in applicants?

Per Tennessee State University's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates academic GPA, standardized test scores as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is Tennessee State University's acceptance rate?

Tennessee State University in Nashville, TN admits approximately 70% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Tennessee State University?

Per Tennessee State University's own 2025-26 Common Data Set, the middle 50% of enrolled first-years scored 900–1120 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile, among students who submitted scores).

What ACT score do I need for Tennessee State University?

Per Tennessee State University's own 2025-26 Common Data Set, the middle 50% of enrolled first-years scored 16–21 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile, among students who submitted scores).

How much does Tennessee State University cost?

Tennessee State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $25,637 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Tennessee State University offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Tennessee State University takes part in the Academic Common Market, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Tennessee State University?

For 2024-25, Tennessee State University's published tuition and required fees were $22,416 for out-of-state students and $8,616 for in-state students -- $13,800 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

When is the application deadline for Tennessee State University?

Tennessee State University's deadlines are Regular Decision Aug 1, 2027, per its own published admissions calendar.

Does Tennessee State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Tennessee State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Tennessee State University against another school?

Open the comparison view