College Intel
← Back to colleges

Middle Tennessee State University

Public

Murfreesboro, TN

Visit website ↗

Middle Tennessee State University, in Murfreesboro, TN, is a public very large school, enrolling around 16,301 students. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 69% of applicants get in. Among reported majors, Construction Management shows the strongest outcomes -- $98,967/year in median earnings four years after graduation. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate69%
SAT range1020–12202025-26 CDS
ACT range19–252025-26 CDS
Undergrads16,301
Yield (admits who enroll)30%
Next deadlineNot reported

Test scores for the Fall 2025 entering class come from Middle Tennessee State University's own 2025-26 Common Data Set: 7% submitted SAT scores, 92% submitted ACT scores.

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$24,2892024-25
In-state tuition & fees$10,2662024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$31,5742024-25
4-year grad rate54%
Median earnings, 10yr out$48,541

Out-of-state students pay $21,308 more per year in tuition and fees (3.1x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Middle Tennessee State University takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Academic Common Market

Residents of Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia can pay in-state tuition for a specific major that no public college in their home state offers. You need admission to that major and approval from your home state's coordinator.

Where do you stand against Middle Tennessee State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Middle Tennessee State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans28%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out50%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Agriculture, Agriculture Operations, and Related Sciences
Agricultural Business and Management$53,648/yr
Animal Sciences$41,965/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$56,659/yr
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$49,543/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Construction Management$98,967/yr
Management Information Systems and Services$75,044/yr
Accounting and Related Services$73,702/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$66,701/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$63,928/yr
Marketing$60,217/yr
Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations$45,464/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Journalism$49,932/yr
Communication and Media Studies$45,155/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$96,485/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$57,543/yr
Special Education and Teaching$47,239/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$46,252/yr
Engineering
Mechatronics, Robotics, and Automation Engineering$92,533/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Engineering-Related Fields$83,405/yr
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General$80,541/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$47,105/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services$54,070/yr
Apparel and Textiles$45,225/yr
Family and Consumer Economics and Related Studies$39,268/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services$43,666/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$75,061/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$56,781/yr
Public Health$46,320/yr
History
History$51,206/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$55,481/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$54,747/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$69,300/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Biological and Physical Sciences$56,293/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$49,997/yr
International/Globalization Studies$49,637/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$48,608/yr
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management$46,796/yr
Physical Sciences
Physics$69,192/yr
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$56,405/yr
Psychology
Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology$55,031/yr
Psychology, General$43,826/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$45,451/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$50,169/yr
Sociology$48,276/yr
Economics$42,701/yr
Anthropology$38,727/yr
Transportation and Materials Moving
Air Transportation$80,424/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Design and Applied Arts$50,184/yr
Arts, Entertainment, and Media Management$46,349/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$44,760/yr
Music$43,999/yr
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$37,274/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$33,179/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity2,518
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Middle Tennessee State University's acceptance rate?

Middle Tennessee State University in Murfreesboro, TN admits approximately 69% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Middle Tennessee State University?

Per Middle Tennessee State University's own 2025-26 Common Data Set, the middle 50% of enrolled first-years scored 1020–1220 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile, among students who submitted scores).

What ACT score do I need for Middle Tennessee State University?

Per Middle Tennessee State University's own 2025-26 Common Data Set, the middle 50% of enrolled first-years scored 19–25 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile, among students who submitted scores).

How much does Middle Tennessee State University cost?

Middle Tennessee State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $24,289 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Middle Tennessee State University offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Middle Tennessee State University takes part in the Academic Common Market, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Middle Tennessee State University?

For 2024-25, Middle Tennessee State University's published tuition and required fees were $31,574 for out-of-state students and $10,266 for in-state students -- $21,308 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does Middle Tennessee State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Middle Tennessee State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Middle Tennessee State University against another school?

Open the comparison view