College Intel
← Back to colleges

Purdue University Northwest

Public

Hammond, IN

Visit website ↗

Purdue University Northwest is a public mid-sized school in Hammond, IN, enrolling about 5,671 undergraduates. Purdue University Northwest is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 72%. Engineering graduates, especially in Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $96,206/year. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate72%
SAT range890–1140
ACT range16–24
Undergrads5,671
Yield (admits who enroll)31%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$15,571
4-year grad rate43%
Median earnings, 10yr out$48,318

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Purdue University Northwest's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Purdue University Northwest weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans25%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out42%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$48,094/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$69,186/yr
Human Resources Management and Services$67,466/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$65,912/yr
Marketing$63,333/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$57,191/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$49,326/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$88,158/yr
Computer and Information Sciences, General$75,365/yr
Computer Software and Media Applications$29,630/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$49,224/yr
Engineering
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$96,206/yr
Mechanical Engineering$91,229/yr
Civil Engineering$84,514/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians$85,242/yr
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians$84,288/yr
Engineering-Related Fields$82,075/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$34,560/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$39,664/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$88,935/yr
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$46,277/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$51,349/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Behavioral Sciences$37,956/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$42,322/yr
Social Sciences
Sociology$48,830/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity744
Typical room charge$5,967
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Purdue University Northwest's acceptance rate?

Purdue University Northwest in Hammond, IN admits approximately 72% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Purdue University Northwest?

Admitted students at Purdue University Northwest typically score between 890–1140 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for Purdue University Northwest?

Admitted students at Purdue University Northwest typically score between 16–24 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Purdue University Northwest cost?

Purdue University Northwest's total cost of attendance is reported at $15,571 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Purdue University Northwest require students to live on campus?

No -- Purdue University Northwest doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Purdue University Northwest against another school?

Open the comparison view