College Intel
← Back to colleges

Indiana University-Northwest

Public

Gary, IN

Visit website ↗

Located in Gary, IN, Indiana University-Northwest is a public small school with roughly 2,661 undergraduates. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 73% of applicants get in. Among reported majors, Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions shows the strongest outcomes -- $86,888/year in median earnings four years after graduation. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate73%
SAT range910–1180
ACT range18–26
Undergrads2,661
Yield (admits who enroll)27%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$13,989
4-year grad rate37%
Median earnings, 10yr out$43,361

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Indiana University-Northwest's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Indiana University-Northwest weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans34%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out36%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business/Commerce, General$56,211/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$51,863/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$49,084/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$54,088/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$29,768/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$86,888/yr
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$82,626/yr
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions$67,468/yr
Health and Medical Administrative Services$54,525/yr
Public Health$53,988/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$58,155/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$47,530/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$45,323/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$51,575/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingNo
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacityNot reported
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPAConsidered, not required
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Indiana University-Northwest's acceptance rate?

Indiana University-Northwest in Gary, IN admits approximately 73% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Indiana University-Northwest?

Admitted students at Indiana University-Northwest typically score between 910–1180 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for Indiana University-Northwest?

Admitted students at Indiana University-Northwest typically score between 18–26 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Indiana University-Northwest cost?

Indiana University-Northwest's total cost of attendance is reported at $13,989 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Indiana University-Northwest require students to live on campus?

No -- Indiana University-Northwest doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Indiana University-Northwest against another school?

Open the comparison view