College Intel
← Back to colleges

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Abington

Public

Abington, PA

Visit website ↗

Located in Abington, PA, Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Abington is a public small school with roughly 2,877 undergraduates. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 97% of applicants. Its highest-earning reported major is Computer and Information Sciences, General (Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services), where graduates report median earnings of $120,729/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate97%
SAT range1070–1265
ACT range23–27
Undergrads2,877
Yield (admits who enroll)15%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$28,795
4-year grad rate21%
Median earnings, 10yr out$63,435

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Abington's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Abington weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans46%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out68%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$64,910/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Finance and Financial Management Services$96,714/yr
Accounting and Related Services$88,192/yr
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$73,308/yr
Business/Commerce, General$65,292/yr
Business/Corporate Communications$55,840/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$120,729/yr
Computer Science$101,854/yr
Information Science/Studies$91,671/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$53,362/yr
Engineering
Engineering, General$88,063/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$50,299/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$91,032/yr
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions$51,635/yr
History
History$52,871/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$56,877/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$58,195/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$77,336/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Biological and Physical Sciences$69,102/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$67,399/yr
Physical Sciences
Physics$81,763/yr
Psychology
Research and Experimental Psychology$48,348/yr
Science Technologies/Technicians
Biology/Biotechnology Technologies/Technicians$75,919/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Visual and Performing Arts, General$45,170/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$40,036/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity400
Typical room charge$9,694
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Abington's acceptance rate?

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Abington in Abington, PA admits approximately 97% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Abington?

Admitted students at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Abington typically score between 1070–1265 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Abington?

Admitted students at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Abington typically score between 23–27 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Abington cost?

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Abington's total cost of attendance is reported at $28,795 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Abington require students to live on campus?

No -- Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Abington doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Abington against another school?

Open the comparison view