College Intel
← Back to colleges

Northern Kentucky University

Public

Highland Heights, KY

Visit website ↗

Northern Kentucky University is a public large school in Highland Heights, KY, enrolling about 8,246 undergraduates. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 68% of applicants get in. Its highest-earning reported major is Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians (Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields), where graduates report median earnings of $88,492/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate68%
SAT range953–1150
ACT range18–25
Undergrads8,246
Yield (admits who enroll)28%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$19,725
4-year grad rate50%
Median earnings, 10yr out$50,220

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Northern Kentucky University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Northern Kentucky University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans31%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out55%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$56,999/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Management Information Systems and Services$85,697/yr
Construction Management$81,833/yr
Accounting and Related Services$69,610/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$68,409/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$67,319/yr
Business/Commerce, General$67,174/yr
Marketing$67,018/yr
Human Resources Management and Services$65,960/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$53,082/yr
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$49,989/yr
Journalism$44,834/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$82,982/yr
Information Science/Studies$50,009/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$45,738/yr
Special Education and Teaching$42,964/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$42,709/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians$88,492/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$44,385/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$44,561/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$77,404/yr
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$73,478/yr
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$61,173/yr
History
History$48,109/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$55,835/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$50,322/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$48,949/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$60,377/yr
Physical Sciences
Chemistry$65,038/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$47,280/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$44,914/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$50,668/yr
International Relations and National Security Studies$41,730/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Design and Applied Arts$52,703/yr
Music$47,343/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$42,684/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$35,624/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity2,019
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Northern Kentucky University's acceptance rate?

Northern Kentucky University in Highland Heights, KY admits approximately 68% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Northern Kentucky University?

Admitted students at Northern Kentucky University typically score between 953–1150 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for Northern Kentucky University?

Admitted students at Northern Kentucky University typically score between 18–25 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Northern Kentucky University cost?

Northern Kentucky University's total cost of attendance is reported at $19,725 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Northern Kentucky University require students to live on campus?

No -- Northern Kentucky University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Northern Kentucky University against another school?

Open the comparison view