College Intel
← Back to colleges

Morehead State University

Public

Morehead, KY

Visit website ↗

Morehead State University, in Morehead, KY, is a public mid-sized school, enrolling around 4,578 students. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 77% of applicants. Among reported majors, Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing shows the strongest outcomes -- $85,740/year in median earnings four years after graduation. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate77%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads4,578
Yield (admits who enroll)18%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$21,9612024-25
In-state tuition & fees$10,0242024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$14,9802024-25
4-year grad rate50%
Median earnings, 10yr out$43,197

Out-of-state students pay $4,956 more per year in tuition and fees (1.5x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Morehead State University takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Academic Common Market

Residents of Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia can pay in-state tuition for a specific major that no public college in their home state offers. You need admission to that major and approval from your home state's coordinator.

Where do you stand against Morehead State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Morehead State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans34%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out47%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Agriculture, Agriculture Operations, and Related Sciences
Agriculture, General$45,255/yr
Veterinary/Animal Health Technologies/Technicians$38,347/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$65,624/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Management Information Systems and Services$59,145/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$55,282/yr
Business/Commerce, General$50,191/yr
Accounting and Related Services$50,125/yr
Marketing$41,206/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$46,667/yr
Communication and Media Studies$44,149/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$51,805/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$47,242/yr
Special Education and Teaching$39,777/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$37,275/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Engineering-Related Fields$85,181/yr
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General$76,568/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$35,895/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$85,740/yr
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$76,850/yr
Legal Professions and Studies
Non-Professional Legal Studies$40,990/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$43,422/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$47,916/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$45,877/yr
Physical Sciences
Physics$62,865/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$45,874/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$45,201/yr
Social Sciences
Sociology$50,331/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Music$40,768/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$32,257/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity3,315
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Morehead State University's acceptance rate?

Morehead State University in Morehead, KY admits approximately 77% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Morehead State University cost?

Morehead State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $21,961 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Morehead State University offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Morehead State University takes part in the Academic Common Market, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Morehead State University?

For 2024-25, Morehead State University's published tuition and required fees were $14,980 for out-of-state students and $10,024 for in-state students -- $4,956 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does Morehead State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Morehead State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Morehead State University against another school?

Open the comparison view