College Intel
← Back to colleges

Northern Arizona University

Public

Flagstaff, AZ

Visit website ↗

Located in Flagstaff, AZ, Northern Arizona University is a public very large school with roughly 22,903 undergraduates. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 90% of applicants. Its highest-earning reported major is Computer Science (Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services), where graduates report median earnings of $99,067/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate90%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads22,903
Yield (admits who enroll)16%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$29,9332024-25
In-state tuition & fees$13,0092024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$29,8812024-25
4-year grad rate59%
Median earnings, 10yr out$54,384

Out-of-state students pay $16,872 more per year in tuition and fees (2.3x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Northern Arizona University takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Western Undergraduate Exchange

Students from Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Pacific territories pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition. Each school sets its own requirements, often a GPA minimum, and some majors are left out.

Where do you stand against Northern Arizona University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Northern Arizona University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans32%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out56%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Microbiological Sciences and Immunology$58,491/yr
Biology, General$55,446/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Construction Management$99,015/yr
Accounting and Related Services$81,144/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$77,855/yr
Management Information Systems and Services$76,041/yr
Marketing$69,834/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$66,376/yr
Business/Managerial Economics$63,605/yr
Hospitality Administration/Management$58,857/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Journalism$57,868/yr
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$55,863/yr
Communication and Media Studies$52,957/yr
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$50,233/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$99,067/yr
Computer Systems Analysis$97,511/yr
Education
Special Education and Teaching$53,619/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$53,246/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$50,738/yr
Engineering
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$95,388/yr
Mechanical Engineering$91,941/yr
Civil Engineering$88,184/yr
Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering$78,955/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$45,915/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$57,004/yr
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services$54,276/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$84,996/yr
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions$68,917/yr
Public Health$61,757/yr
History
History$45,795/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$56,433/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$54,149/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General$49,080/yr
Cultural Studies/Critical Theory and Analysis$37,350/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Forestry$52,191/yr
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$48,321/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$61,250/yr
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies$50,501/yr
Physical Sciences
Chemistry$60,630/yr
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$60,402/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$50,448/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$54,000/yr
Public Administration$52,834/yr
Science Technologies/Technicians
Science Technologies/Technicians, Other$54,507/yr
Social Sciences
International Relations and National Security Studies$60,448/yr
Political Science and Government$58,571/yr
Criminology$56,676/yr
Sociology$44,082/yr
Anthropology$39,597/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$48,800/yr
Design and Applied Arts$48,764/yr
Music$43,792/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$38,380/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$34,073/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity9,952
Typical room charge$6,180
Typical board charge$5,548

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Northern Arizona University's acceptance rate?

Northern Arizona University in Flagstaff, AZ admits approximately 90% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Northern Arizona University cost?

Northern Arizona University's total cost of attendance is reported at $29,933 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Northern Arizona University offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Northern Arizona University takes part in the Western Undergraduate Exchange, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Northern Arizona University?

For 2024-25, Northern Arizona University's published tuition and required fees were $29,881 for out-of-state students and $13,009 for in-state students -- $16,872 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does Northern Arizona University require students to live on campus?

No -- Northern Arizona University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Northern Arizona University against another school?

Open the comparison view