College Intel
← Back to colleges

Hampshire College is closing

Hampshire College's Board of Trustees voted to permanently close the college after the fall 2026 semester -- it is not admitting a new class for Fall 2027.

Hampshire College

Private

Amherst, MA

Visit website ↗

Located in Amherst, MA, Hampshire College is a private very small school with roughly 839 undergraduates. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 75% of applicants. Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities graduates, especially in Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $36,508/year. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate75%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads839
Yield (admits who enroll)16%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$74,195
4-year grad rate56%
Median earnings, 10yr out$46,938

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Hampshire College weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans62%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out73%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$36,508/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,180
Typical room charge$8,520
Typical board charge$5,912

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPAConsidered, not required
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsRequired

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Hampshire College's acceptance rate?

Hampshire College in Amherst, MA admits approximately 75% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Hampshire College cost?

Hampshire College's total cost of attendance is reported at $74,195 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Hampshire College require students to live on campus?

No -- Hampshire College doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Hampshire College against another school?

Open the comparison view