College Intel
← Back to colleges

CUNY York College

Public

Jamaica, NY

Visit website ↗

CUNY York College, in Jamaica, NY, is a public mid-sized school, enrolling around 4,345 students. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 64% of applicants get in. Among reported majors, Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions shows the strongest outcomes -- $155,557/year in median earnings four years after graduation. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate64%
SAT range790–960
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads4,345
Yield (admits who enroll)8%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$14,330
4-year grad rate31%
Median earnings, 10yr out$56,945

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against CUNY York College's numbers?

Check your chances here

How CUNY York College weighs your application

From CUNY York College's own Common Data Set, 2024-25, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordImportant
Class rankVery important
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresVery important
Application essayNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesNot considered
Talent/abilityNot considered
Character/personal qualitiesNot considered
First generationNot considered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceNot considered
State residencyNot considered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workNot considered
Work experienceNot considered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Not considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how CUNY York College actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what CUNY York College weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans6%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out48%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Pharmacology and Toxicology$69,306/yr
Biology, General$69,149/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$67,152/yr
Marketing$64,386/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$62,993/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Journalism$53,901/yr
Communications Technologies/Technicians and Support Services
Communications Technologies/Technicians$47,469/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$73,044/yr
Computer and Information Sciences, General$63,367/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$67,862/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$69,380/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$155,557/yr
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions$122,313/yr
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$112,147/yr
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions$77,201/yr
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$60,346/yr
Public Health$52,679/yr
Movement and Mind-Body Therapies and Education$44,991/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$46,023/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$53,156/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$60,820/yr
Social Sciences
Sociology$59,899/yr
Economics$56,571/yr
Transportation and Materials Moving
Air Transportation$57,665/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingNo
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacityNot reported
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does CUNY York College look for in applicants?

Per CUNY York College's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates class rank, academic GPA, standardized test scores as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is CUNY York College's acceptance rate?

CUNY York College in Jamaica, NY admits approximately 64% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for CUNY York College?

Admitted students at CUNY York College typically score between 790–960 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does CUNY York College cost?

CUNY York College's total cost of attendance is reported at $14,330 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does CUNY York College require students to live on campus?

No -- CUNY York College doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing CUNY York College against another school?

Open the comparison view