College Intel
← Back to colleges

CUNY Queens College

Public

Queens, NY

Visit website ↗

Located in Queens, NY, CUNY Queens College is a public large school with roughly 12,550 undergraduates. CUNY Queens College is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 64%. Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services graduates, especially in Computer Science, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $112,903/year. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate64%
SAT range1010–1290
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads12,550
Yield (admits who enroll)15%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$14,367
4-year grad rate56%
Median earnings, 10yr out$62,763

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against CUNY Queens College's numbers?

Check your chances here

How CUNY Queens College weighs your application

From CUNY Queens College's own Common Data Set, 2024-25, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
Class rankNot considered
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresVery important
Application essayConsidered
RecommendationsConsidered
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesNot considered
Talent/abilityNot considered
Character/personal qualitiesNot considered
First generationNot considered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceNot considered
State residencyNot considered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workNot considered
Work experienceNot considered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Not considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how CUNY Queens College actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what CUNY Queens College weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans8%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out56%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$64,303/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Finance and Financial Management Services$94,526/yr
Accounting and Related Services$69,956/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$61,501/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$112,903/yr
Education
Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language$79,175/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$76,925/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$67,221/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$50,194/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General$49,054/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$64,185/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$78,281/yr
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services$59,655/yr
History
History$52,406/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$74,659/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$65,863/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$62,602/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$57,210/yr
Social Sciences
Urban Studies/Affairs$74,979/yr
Political Science and Government$65,213/yr
Economics$65,049/yr
Sociology$56,550/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Design and Applied Arts$44,835/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$37,764/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$31,239/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity510
Typical room charge$11,694
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsRequired

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does CUNY Queens College look for in applicants?

Per CUNY Queens College's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates rigor of secondary school record, academic GPA, standardized test scores as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is CUNY Queens College's acceptance rate?

CUNY Queens College in Queens, NY admits approximately 64% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for CUNY Queens College?

Admitted students at CUNY Queens College typically score between 1010–1290 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does CUNY Queens College cost?

CUNY Queens College's total cost of attendance is reported at $14,367 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does CUNY Queens College require students to live on campus?

No -- CUNY Queens College doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing CUNY Queens College against another school?

Open the comparison view