College Intel
← Back to colleges

Columbia College

Private

Columbia, SC

Visit website ↗

Columbia College, in Columbia, SC, is a private small school, enrolling around 1,343 students. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 94% of applicants. Its highest-earning reported major is Homeland Security (Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services), where graduates report median earnings of $71,888/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate94%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads1,343
Yield (admits who enroll)9%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$35,258
4-year grad rate45%
Median earnings, 10yr out$41,338

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Columbia College's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Columbia College weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans65%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out44%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$53,979/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$44,280/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$46,686/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Homeland Security$71,888/yr
Criminal Justice and Corrections$59,371/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Behavioral Sciences$39,738/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$32,207/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$44,276/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity618
Typical room charge$4,150
Typical board charge$4,250

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankRequired
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Columbia College's acceptance rate?

Columbia College in Columbia, SC admits approximately 94% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Columbia College cost?

Columbia College's total cost of attendance is reported at $35,258 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Columbia College require students to live on campus?

No -- Columbia College doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Columbia College against another school?

Open the comparison view