College Intel
← Back to colleges

Charleston Southern University

Private

Charleston, SC

Visit website ↗

Charleston Southern University, in Charleston, SC, is a private small school, enrolling around 2,893 students. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 96% of applicants get in. Its highest-earning reported major is Computer Science (Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services), where graduates report median earnings of $97,290/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate96%
SAT range930–1160
ACT range18–24
Undergrads2,893
Yield (admits who enroll)17%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$44,558
4-year grad rate48%
Median earnings, 10yr out$45,898

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Charleston Southern University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Charleston Southern University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans48%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out49%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$46,399/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$69,117/yr
Accounting and Related Services$58,600/yr
Human Resources Management and Services$57,482/yr
Marketing$57,179/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$50,824/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$97,290/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$48,154/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$43,743/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$75,175/yr
Health and Medical Administrative Services$57,253/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$53,162/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$47,715/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$41,934/yr
Social Sciences
Social Sciences, General$44,416/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Design and Applied Arts$41,925/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,370
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Charleston Southern University's acceptance rate?

Charleston Southern University in Charleston, SC admits approximately 96% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Charleston Southern University?

Admitted students at Charleston Southern University typically score between 930–1160 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for Charleston Southern University?

Admitted students at Charleston Southern University typically score between 18–24 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Charleston Southern University cost?

Charleston Southern University's total cost of attendance is reported at $44,558 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Charleston Southern University require students to live on campus?

No -- Charleston Southern University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Charleston Southern University against another school?

Open the comparison view