College Intel
← Back to colleges

Benedict College

Private

Columbia, SC

Visit website ↗

Benedict College is a private small school in Columbia, SC, enrolling about 1,536 undergraduates. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 96% of applicants get in. Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services graduates, especially in Business Administration, Management and Operations, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $41,811/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate96%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads1,536
Yield (admits who enroll)9%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$32,000
4-year grad rate23%
Median earnings, 10yr out$31,902

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Benedict College's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Benedict College weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans63%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out13%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$36,966/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$41,811/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$41,158/yr
Communication and Media Studies$37,638/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$34,129/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$39,337/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies$41,372/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,691
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Benedict College's acceptance rate?

Benedict College in Columbia, SC admits approximately 96% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Benedict College cost?

Benedict College's total cost of attendance is reported at $32,000 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Benedict College require students to live on campus?

No -- Benedict College doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Benedict College against another school?

Open the comparison view