← Back to collegesLocated in Cleveland, OH, Cleveland State University is a public large school with roughly 8,969 undergraduates. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 91% of applicants get in. Its highest-earning reported major is Computer Science (Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services), where graduates report median earnings of $100,385/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.
Admissions
Admit rate91%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads8,969
Yield (admits who enroll)17%
Next deadlineRolling admission
Cost & outcomes
Cost of attendance$27,159
4-year grad rate50%
Median earnings, 10yr out$52,131
From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Cleveland State University weighs in your application
Paying it back
Undergrads taking federal loans74%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out47%
"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.
Majors & earnings
Biological and Biomedical SciencesBiology, General$53,898/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support ServicesFinance and Financial Management Services$73,669/yr
Accounting and Related Services$73,476/yr
International Business$68,241/yr
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$67,614/yr
Human Resources Management and Services$65,203/yr
Marketing$61,829/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$58,930/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related ProgramsPublic Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$55,174/yr
Communication and Media Studies$48,688/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support ServicesComputer Science$100,385/yr
Computer and Information Sciences, General$86,337/yr
Information Science/Studies$72,661/yr
EducationTeacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$48,254/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$43,424/yr
Educational Administration and Supervision$41,308/yr
EngineeringComputer Engineering$88,595/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$87,713/yr
Mechanical Engineering$85,184/yr
Chemical Engineering$81,185/yr
Civil Engineering$73,575/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related FieldsElectrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians$88,732/yr
English Language and Literature/LettersEnglish Language and Literature, General$41,767/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsRomance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$48,439/yr
Health Professions and Related ProgramsAllied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$83,938/yr
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$82,201/yr
Health/Medical Preparatory Programs$67,214/yr
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions$55,038/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$51,540/yr
Mathematics and Statistics Natural Resources and ConservationNatural Resources Conservation and Research$53,245/yr
PsychologyPsychology, General$46,090/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions Social SciencesEconomics$62,852/yr
Sociology$57,211/yr
Urban Studies/Affairs$53,582/yr
Criminology$52,713/yr
Political Science and Government$49,647/yr
International Relations and National Security Studies$45,045/yr
Anthropology$38,972/yr
Visual and Performing ArtsDesign and Applied Arts$46,635/yr
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$37,745/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$36,603/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$36,174/yr
Music$29,842/yr
Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.
Campus life
On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,011
Typical room charge$9,077
Typical board charge$5,120
Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.
What matters in your application
GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered
From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.
Frequently asked questions
What is Cleveland State University's acceptance rate?
Cleveland State University in Cleveland, OH admits approximately 91% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.
How much does Cleveland State University cost?
Cleveland State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $27,159 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.
Does Cleveland State University require students to live on campus?
No -- Cleveland State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.