College Intel
← Back to colleges

Winona State University

Public

Winona, MN

Visit website ↗

Winona State University is a public mid-sized school in Winona, MN, enrolling about 5,144 undergraduates. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 75% of applicants. Engineering graduates, especially in Materials Engineering, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $91,528/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate75%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads5,144
Yield (admits who enroll)30%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$23,6832024-25
In-state tuition & fees$10,5762024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$17,3082024-25
4-year grad rate59%
Median earnings, 10yr out$58,532

Out-of-state students pay $6,732 more per year in tuition and fees (1.6x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Where do you stand against Winona State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Winona State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans49%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out75%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$57,528/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Management Information Systems and Services$76,708/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$75,807/yr
Accounting and Related Services$72,768/yr
Marketing$70,203/yr
Human Resources Management and Services$65,501/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$61,878/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$53,456/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$88,164/yr
Education
Special Education and Teaching$49,824/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$48,767/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$46,863/yr
Engineering
Materials Engineering$91,528/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$47,876/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$55,113/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$80,117/yr
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions$73,400/yr
Health and Medical Administrative Services$72,716/yr
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$51,910/yr
Public Health$47,291/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$62,220/yr
Legal Professions and Studies
Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies$48,808/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$55,235/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$63,303/yr
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies$54,381/yr
Physical Sciences
Chemistry$64,760/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$49,361/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$54,056/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$55,027/yr
Sociology$49,166/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$48,258/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,773
Typical room charge$6,284
Typical board charge$3,370

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Winona State University's acceptance rate?

Winona State University in Winona, MN admits approximately 75% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Winona State University cost?

Winona State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $23,683 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

What is out-of-state tuition at Winona State University?

For 2024-25, Winona State University's published tuition and required fees were $17,308 for out-of-state students and $10,576 for in-state students -- $6,732 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does Winona State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Winona State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Winona State University against another school?

Open the comparison view