← Back to collegesUniversity of Southern Mississippi, in Hattiesburg, MS, is a public large school, enrolling around 10,075 students. University of Southern Mississippi is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 99%. Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields graduates, especially in Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $89,904/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.
Admissions
Admit rate99%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT range20–29
Undergrads10,075
Yield (admits who enroll)18%
Next deadlineNot reported
Cost & outcomes
Cost of attendance$26,566
4-year grad rate50%
Median earnings, 10yr out$44,140
From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of Southern Mississippi weighs in your application
Paying it back
Undergrads taking federal loans48%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out55%
"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.
Majors & earnings
Biological and Biomedical SciencesBiology, General$45,471/yr
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology$36,771/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support ServicesBusiness, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other$70,328/yr
Accounting and Related Services$65,861/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$55,959/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$52,089/yr
Marketing$51,714/yr
Human Resources Management and Services$51,402/yr
Hospitality Administration/Management$45,985/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related ProgramsCommunication and Media Studies$45,161/yr
Journalism$41,293/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support ServicesComputer and Information Sciences, General$81,740/yr
Data Processing$55,514/yr
EducationTeacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$44,990/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$40,932/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related FieldsIndustrial Production Technologies/Technicians$89,904/yr
Architectural Engineering Technologies/Technicians$82,848/yr
English Language and Literature/LettersEnglish Language and Literature, General$39,214/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human SciencesHuman Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$33,936/yr
Health Professions and Related ProgramsRegistered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$72,411/yr
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$53,436/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$51,381/yr
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services$50,957/yr
Public Health$47,419/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective ServicesSecurity Science and Technology$51,956/yr
Criminal Justice and Corrections$46,109/yr
Legal Professions and StudiesLegal Support Services$48,196/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesLiberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$44,963/yr
Library ScienceLibrary Science and Administration$30,340/yr
Mathematics and Statistics Multi/Interdisciplinary StudiesMulti/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$40,707/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness StudiesSports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$54,909/yr
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies$45,056/yr
Physical SciencesGeological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$66,142/yr
Chemistry$63,856/yr
PsychologyPsychology, General$37,925/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions Visual and Performing ArtsArts, Entertainment, and Media Management$41,095/yr
Visual and Performing Arts, General$38,599/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$30,864/yr
Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.
Campus life
On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity3,592
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported
Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.
What matters in your application
GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered
From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.
Frequently asked questions
What is University of Southern Mississippi's acceptance rate?
University of Southern Mississippi in Hattiesburg, MS admits approximately 99% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.
What ACT score do I need for University of Southern Mississippi?
Admitted students at University of Southern Mississippi typically score between 20–29 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).
How much does University of Southern Mississippi cost?
University of Southern Mississippi's total cost of attendance is reported at $26,566 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.
Does University of Southern Mississippi require students to live on campus?
No -- University of Southern Mississippi doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.