College Intel
← Back to colleges

Mississippi Valley State University

Public

Itta Bena, MS

Visit website ↗

Mississippi Valley State University is a public small school in Itta Bena, MS, enrolling about 1,439 undergraduates. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 92% of applicants. Among reported majors, Business Administration, Management and Operations shows the strongest outcomes -- $53,691/year in median earnings four years after graduation. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate92%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT range13–17
Undergrads1,439
Yield (admits who enroll)14%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$21,1542024-25
In-state tuition & fees$7,6922024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$7,6922024-25
4-year grad rate24%
Median earnings, 10yr out$31,919

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Mississippi Valley State University takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Academic Common Market

Residents of Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia can pay in-state tuition for a specific major that no public college in their home state offers. You need admission to that major and approval from your home state's coordinator.

Where do you stand against Mississippi Valley State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Mississippi Valley State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans49%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out36%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$53,691/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,178
Typical room charge$4,386
Typical board charge$3,794

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Mississippi Valley State University's acceptance rate?

Mississippi Valley State University in Itta Bena, MS admits approximately 92% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What ACT score do I need for Mississippi Valley State University?

Admitted students at Mississippi Valley State University typically score between 13–17 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Mississippi Valley State University cost?

Mississippi Valley State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $21,154 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Mississippi Valley State University offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Mississippi Valley State University takes part in the Academic Common Market, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Mississippi Valley State University?

For 2024-25, Mississippi Valley State University's published tuition and required fees were $7,692 for out-of-state students and $7,692 for in-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does Mississippi Valley State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Mississippi Valley State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Mississippi Valley State University against another school?

Open the comparison view