College Intel
← Back to colleges

Mississippi University for Women

Public

Columbus, MS

Visit website ↗

Mississippi University for Women, in Columbus, MS, is a public small school, enrolling around 1,605 students. Mississippi University for Women is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 90%. Its highest-earning reported major is Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Health Professions and Related Programs), where graduates report median earnings of $91,522/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate90%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT range17–24
Undergrads1,605
Yield (admits who enroll)28%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$22,2252024-25
In-state tuition & fees$8,4922024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$8,4922024-25
4-year grad rate42%
Median earnings, 10yr out$46,128

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Mississippi University for Women takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Academic Common Market

Residents of Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia can pay in-state tuition for a specific major that no public college in their home state offers. You need admission to that major and approval from your home state's coordinator.

Where do you stand against Mississippi University for Women's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Mississippi University for Women weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans41%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out57%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$52,829/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$42,035/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$41,632/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$40,196/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$91,522/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$49,488/yr
Public Health$38,325/yr
Legal Professions and Studies
Legal Support Services$45,081/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$39,455/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$43,936/yr
Personal and Culinary Services
Culinary Arts and Related Services$42,043/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Visual and Performing Arts, General$29,090/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity664
Typical room charge$4,712
Typical board charge$3,500

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Mississippi University for Women's acceptance rate?

Mississippi University for Women in Columbus, MS admits approximately 90% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What ACT score do I need for Mississippi University for Women?

Admitted students at Mississippi University for Women typically score between 17–24 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Mississippi University for Women cost?

Mississippi University for Women's total cost of attendance is reported at $22,225 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Mississippi University for Women offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Mississippi University for Women takes part in the Academic Common Market, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Mississippi University for Women?

For 2024-25, Mississippi University for Women's published tuition and required fees were $8,492 for out-of-state students and $8,492 for in-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does Mississippi University for Women require students to live on campus?

No -- Mississippi University for Women doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Mississippi University for Women against another school?

Open the comparison view