College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of Maine

Public

Orono, ME

Visit website ↗

University of Maine, in Orono, ME, is a public large school, enrolling around 8,496 students. University of Maine is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 97%. Engineering graduates, especially in Computer Engineering, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $104,785/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate97%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads8,496
Yield (admits who enroll)14%
Next deadlineDec 1, 2026 (EA)

Application deadlines for Fall 2027 entry

  • Early Action: Dec 1, 2026
  • Regular Decision: Mar 1, 2027

Confirm on University of Maine's own admissions site before you apply.

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$27,3282024-25
In-state tuition & fees$14,3002026-27
Out-of-state tuition & fees$39,4102026-27
4-year grad rate56%
Median earnings, 10yr out$48,653

Out-of-state students pay $25,110 more per year in tuition and fees (2.8x the in-state rate).

Based on 30 credits a year, since UMaine charges by the credit. Business, engineering and nursing courses cost more.

Tuition & fees are University of Maine's own published 2026-27 rates (source); other figures are from the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

University of Maine takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

New England Tuition Break

Residents of the other New England states get a reduced out-of-state rate in approved majors. Which majors qualify depends on your home state.

University of Maine's published Tuition Break rate for 2026-27: $24,230 a year in tuition and fees (source).

Where do you stand against University of Maine's numbers?

Check your chances here

How University of Maine weighs your application

From University of Maine's own Common Data Set, 2025-26, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
Class rankVery important
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresNot considered
Application essayImportant
RecommendationsImportant
Nonacademic factors
InterviewConsidered
Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
Talent/abilityConsidered
Character/personal qualitiesConsidered
First generationNot considered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceNot considered
State residencyNot considered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workConsidered
Work experienceConsidered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Not considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how University of Maine actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of Maine weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans42%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out72%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Agriculture, Agriculture Operations, and Related Sciences
Food Science and Technology$56,861/yr
Animal Sciences$50,825/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$57,185/yr
Zoology/Animal Biology$36,078/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Finance and Financial Management Services$75,004/yr
Marketing$67,863/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$66,867/yr
Accounting and Related Services$65,906/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$58,306/yr
Journalism$54,717/yr
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$47,421/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$99,413/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$56,169/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$45,122/yr
Engineering
Computer Engineering$104,785/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$100,593/yr
Chemical Engineering$94,964/yr
Mechanical Engineering$85,064/yr
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$80,059/yr
Civil Engineering$78,989/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians$91,879/yr
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians$90,940/yr
Construction Engineering Technology/Technician$89,454/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$50,825/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$44,893/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$77,494/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$52,584/yr
History
History$53,204/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$45,094/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Marine Sciences$46,292/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Forestry$56,124/yr
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$52,523/yr
Wildlife and Wildlands Science and Management$45,502/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$48,242/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$51,470/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$65,097/yr
International Relations and National Security Studies$62,555/yr
Political Science and Government$58,303/yr
Sociology$58,217/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$44,876/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity3,717
Typical room charge$6,018
Typical board charge$6,032

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPAConsidered, not required
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsRequired

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does University of Maine look for in applicants?

Per University of Maine's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates rigor of secondary school record, class rank, academic GPA as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is University of Maine's acceptance rate?

University of Maine in Orono, ME admits approximately 97% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does University of Maine cost?

University of Maine's total cost of attendance is reported at $27,328 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does University of Maine offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- University of Maine takes part in the New England Tuition Break, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at University of Maine?

For 2026-27, University of Maine's tuition and required fees are $39,410 for out-of-state students and $14,300 for in-state students -- $25,110 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

When is the application deadline for University of Maine?

University of Maine's deadlines are Early Action Dec 1, 2026; Regular Decision Mar 1, 2027, per its own published admissions calendar.

Does University of Maine require students to live on campus?

No -- University of Maine doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of Maine against another school?

Open the comparison view