College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of Houston-Clear Lake

Public

Houston, TX

Visit website ↗

University of Houston-Clear Lake, in Houston, TX, is a public mid-sized school, enrolling around 6,078 students. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 91% of applicants. Among reported majors, Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing shows the strongest outcomes -- $103,991/year in median earnings four years after graduation. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate91%
SAT range970–1150
ACT range20–25
Undergrads6,078
Yield (admits who enroll)26%
Next deadlineSingle filing period

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$24,622
4-year grad rate51%
Median earnings, 10yr out$59,004

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against University of Houston-Clear Lake's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of Houston-Clear Lake weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans28%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out56%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$64,555/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Finance and Financial Management Services$74,949/yr
Management Information Systems and Services$73,352/yr
Business/Commerce, General$71,973/yr
Accounting and Related Services$70,134/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$62,046/yr
Marketing$55,280/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$49,841/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$77,073/yr
Computer and Information Sciences, General$75,617/yr
Engineering
Computer Engineering$79,710/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$57,052/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$103,991/yr
Health and Medical Administrative Services$60,419/yr
History
History$57,675/yr
Legal Professions and Studies
Legal Support Services$52,230/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$60,050/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$57,065/yr
Behavioral Sciences$51,151/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$75,258/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$55,083/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$48,885/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$49,513/yr
Social Sciences
Criminology$52,087/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$38,330/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity559
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankRequired
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is University of Houston-Clear Lake's acceptance rate?

University of Houston-Clear Lake in Houston, TX admits approximately 91% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for University of Houston-Clear Lake?

Admitted students at University of Houston-Clear Lake typically score between 970–1150 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for University of Houston-Clear Lake?

Admitted students at University of Houston-Clear Lake typically score between 20–25 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does University of Houston-Clear Lake cost?

University of Houston-Clear Lake's total cost of attendance is reported at $24,622 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does University of Houston-Clear Lake require students to live on campus?

No -- University of Houston-Clear Lake doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of Houston-Clear Lake against another school?

Open the comparison view