College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of Houston-Downtown

Public

Houston, TX

Visit website ↗

University of Houston-Downtown is a public large school in Houston, TX, enrolling about 12,555 undergraduates. University of Houston-Downtown is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 90%. Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields graduates, especially in Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $112,244/year. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate90%
SAT range940–1110
ACT range16–22
Undergrads12,555
Yield (admits who enroll)25%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$20,749
4-year grad rate33%
Median earnings, 10yr out$53,551

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against University of Houston-Downtown's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of Houston-Downtown weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans30%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out43%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$56,787/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Insurance$98,510/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$69,712/yr
Accounting and Related Services$67,499/yr
Management Information Systems and Services$66,881/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$66,591/yr
International Business$66,556/yr
Marketing$61,866/yr
Business/Commerce, General$59,188/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$56,903/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$72,528/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians$112,244/yr
Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians$58,535/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$45,223/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Public Health$52,438/yr
History
History$53,555/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$53,589/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$62,576/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$59,924/yr
Biological and Physical Sciences$56,995/yr
Physical Sciences
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$57,892/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$48,234/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$54,784/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$59,261/yr
Sociology$46,106/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Visual and Performing Arts, General$37,668/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingNo
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacityNot reported
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankRequired
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is University of Houston-Downtown's acceptance rate?

University of Houston-Downtown in Houston, TX admits approximately 90% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for University of Houston-Downtown?

Admitted students at University of Houston-Downtown typically score between 940–1110 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for University of Houston-Downtown?

Admitted students at University of Houston-Downtown typically score between 16–22 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does University of Houston-Downtown cost?

University of Houston-Downtown's total cost of attendance is reported at $20,749 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does University of Houston-Downtown require students to live on campus?

No -- University of Houston-Downtown doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of Houston-Downtown against another school?

Open the comparison view