College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of Charleston

Private

Charleston, WV

Visit website ↗

University of Charleston, in Charleston, WV, is a private small school, enrolling around 2,259 students. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 62% of applicants get in. Its highest-earning reported major is Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Health Professions and Related Programs), where graduates report median earnings of $83,847/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate62%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads2,259
Yield (admits who enroll)25%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$46,470
4-year grad rate46%
Median earnings, 10yr out$55,774

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against University of Charleston's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of Charleston weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans35%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out52%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$63,958/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$74,791/yr
Accounting and Related Services$71,104/yr
Communications Technologies/Technicians and Support Services
Graphic Communications$47,037/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$83,847/yr
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$64,571/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$43,601/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity756
Typical room charge$5,600
Typical board charge$4,600

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is University of Charleston's acceptance rate?

University of Charleston in Charleston, WV admits approximately 62% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does University of Charleston cost?

University of Charleston's total cost of attendance is reported at $46,470 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does University of Charleston require students to live on campus?

No -- University of Charleston doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of Charleston against another school?

Open the comparison view