College Intel
← Back to colleges

The University of Texas at El Paso

Public

El Paso, TX

Visit website ↗

Located in El Paso, TX, The University of Texas at El Paso is a public very large school with roughly 21,005 undergraduates. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 100% of applicants. Among reported majors, Computer and Information Sciences, General shows the strongest outcomes -- $103,286/year in median earnings four years after graduation. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate100%
SAT range860–1080
ACT range17–22
Undergrads21,005
Yield (admits who enroll)36%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$19,836
4-year grad rate48%
Median earnings, 10yr out$50,923

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against The University of Texas at El Paso's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what The University of Texas at El Paso weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans27%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out46%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Microbiological Sciences and Immunology$53,992/yr
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$51,356/yr
Biology, General$49,396/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Management Information Systems and Services$62,136/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$59,668/yr
Accounting and Related Services$57,389/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$51,506/yr
Marketing$49,068/yr
Business/Commerce, General$48,065/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$58,451/yr
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$49,558/yr
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$36,373/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$103,286/yr
Engineering
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$94,122/yr
Metallurgical Engineering$89,131/yr
Mechanical Engineering$88,393/yr
Industrial Engineering$82,391/yr
Civil Engineering$75,882/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$45,184/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$47,152/yr
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services$39,907/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$89,077/yr
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions$66,491/yr
Public Health$44,665/yr
History
History$50,510/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$47,681/yr
Security Science and Technology$42,459/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$57,392/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$56,486/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$51,063/yr
Physical Sciences
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$52,098/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$42,190/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$53,995/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$54,069/yr
Sociology$35,325/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Music$60,172/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$36,854/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity988
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankRequired
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is The University of Texas at El Paso's acceptance rate?

The University of Texas at El Paso in El Paso, TX admits approximately 100% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for The University of Texas at El Paso?

Admitted students at The University of Texas at El Paso typically score between 860–1080 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for The University of Texas at El Paso?

Admitted students at The University of Texas at El Paso typically score between 17–22 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does The University of Texas at El Paso cost?

The University of Texas at El Paso's total cost of attendance is reported at $19,836 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does The University of Texas at El Paso require students to live on campus?

No -- The University of Texas at El Paso doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing The University of Texas at El Paso against another school?

Open the comparison view