College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of the Incarnate Word

Private

San Antonio, TX

Visit website ↗

Located in San Antonio, TX, University of the Incarnate Word is a private mid-sized school with roughly 4,440 undergraduates. University of the Incarnate Word is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 98%. Health Professions and Related Programs graduates, especially in Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $84,286/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate98%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads4,440
Yield (admits who enroll)11%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$48,681
4-year grad rate51%
Median earnings, 10yr out$56,733

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against University of the Incarnate Word's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of the Incarnate Word weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans49%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out47%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$50,389/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Human Resources Management and Services$72,061/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$64,692/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$39,660/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$65,405/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$53,576/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$45,684/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$84,286/yr
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$63,475/yr
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$60,839/yr
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions$58,059/yr
Public Health$43,524/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$54,097/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$62,084/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$50,871/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$51,470/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Design and Applied Arts$48,472/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$41,720/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$36,447/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,209
Typical room charge$7,800
Typical board charge$5,200

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is University of the Incarnate Word's acceptance rate?

University of the Incarnate Word in San Antonio, TX admits approximately 98% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does University of the Incarnate Word cost?

University of the Incarnate Word's total cost of attendance is reported at $48,681 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does University of the Incarnate Word require students to live on campus?

No -- University of the Incarnate Word doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of the Incarnate Word against another school?

Open the comparison view