College Intel
← Back to colleges

Southern Utah University

Public

Cedar City, UT

Visit website ↗

Located in Cedar City, UT, Southern Utah University is a public large school with roughly 9,289 undergraduates. Southern Utah University is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 82%. Among reported majors, Finance and Financial Management Services shows the strongest outcomes -- $100,149/year in median earnings four years after graduation. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate82%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads9,289
Yield (admits who enroll)14%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$19,416
4-year grad rate60%
Median earnings, 10yr out$50,296

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Southern Utah University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Southern Utah University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans17%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out69%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$57,709/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Finance and Financial Management Services$100,149/yr
Accounting and Related Services$78,586/yr
Marketing$54,485/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$44,461/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$54,243/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$53,357/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$38,210/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services$47,654/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General$36,654/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$74,908/yr
History
History$36,457/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$60,008/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$54,147/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$48,998/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$57,058/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$42,393/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity977
Typical room charge$4,038
Typical board charge$4,378

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Southern Utah University's acceptance rate?

Southern Utah University in Cedar City, UT admits approximately 82% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Southern Utah University cost?

Southern Utah University's total cost of attendance is reported at $19,416 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Southern Utah University require students to live on campus?

No -- Southern Utah University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Southern Utah University against another school?

Open the comparison view