College Intel
← Back to colleges

Western Governors University

Private

Salt Lake City, UT

Visit website ↗

Western Governors University is a private very large school in Salt Lake City, UT, enrolling about 155,088 undergraduates. Its highest-earning reported major is Computer Software and Media Applications (Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services), where graduates report median earnings of $131,198/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus. About 43% of students borrow federal loans here.

Admissions

Admit rateNot reported
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads155,088
Yield (admits who enroll)Not reported
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$16,728
4-year grad rate48%
Median earnings, 10yr out$60,615

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Western Governors University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Western Governors University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans43%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out54%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations$107,585/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$83,654/yr
Accounting and Related Services$75,767/yr
Marketing$71,431/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Software and Media Applications$131,198/yr
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management$129,303/yr
Computer and Information Sciences, General$108,836/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$52,284/yr
Special Education and Teaching$52,090/yr
Education, General$49,646/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$97,114/yr
Medical Illustration and Informatics$89,625/yr
Health and Medical Administrative Services$82,644/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingNo
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacityNot reported
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPANot reported
Class rankNot reported
RecommendationsNot reported

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Western Governors University cost?

Western Governors University's total cost of attendance is reported at $16,728 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Western Governors University require students to live on campus?

No -- Western Governors University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Western Governors University against another school?

Open the comparison view