College Intel
← Back to colleges

Southeast Missouri State University

Public

Cape Girardeau, MO

Visit website ↗

Southeast Missouri State University is a public mid-sized school in Cape Girardeau, MO, enrolling about 6,373 undergraduates. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 74% of applicants. Its highest-earning reported major is Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management (Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services), where graduates report median earnings of $106,797/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate74%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT range15–20
Undergrads6,373
Yield (admits who enroll)24%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$25,177
4-year grad rate57%
Median earnings, 10yr out$44,030

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Southeast Missouri State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Southeast Missouri State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans33%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out57%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Agriculture, Agriculture Operations, and Related Sciences
Agricultural Business and Management$63,078/yr
Plant Sciences$56,265/yr
Animal Sciences$41,706/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$45,207/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Finance and Financial Management Services$78,407/yr
Accounting and Related Services$69,868/yr
Marketing$61,400/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$59,834/yr
Hospitality Administration/Management$53,527/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$58,082/yr
Communication and Media Studies$47,813/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management$106,797/yr
Computer and Information Sciences, General$93,795/yr
Education
Special Education and Teaching$41,163/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$37,245/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$37,112/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians$80,820/yr
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General$62,781/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$36,356/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General$41,619/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$85,155/yr
Health and Medical Administrative Services$57,260/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$51,817/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$47,934/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$45,383/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
International/Globalization Studies$41,481/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$51,828/yr
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies$40,266/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$44,580/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$43,260/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$66,799/yr
Social Sciences, General$42,761/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$36,531/yr
Visual and Performing Arts, General$33,293/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity2,541
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Southeast Missouri State University's acceptance rate?

Southeast Missouri State University in Cape Girardeau, MO admits approximately 74% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What ACT score do I need for Southeast Missouri State University?

Admitted students at Southeast Missouri State University typically score between 15–20 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Southeast Missouri State University cost?

Southeast Missouri State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $25,177 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Southeast Missouri State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Southeast Missouri State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Southeast Missouri State University against another school?

Open the comparison view