College Intel
← Back to colleges

Harris-Stowe State University

Public

Saint Louis, MO

Visit website ↗

Located in Saint Louis, MO, Harris-Stowe State University is a public very small school with roughly 960 undergraduates. Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services graduates, especially in Marketing, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $53,868/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required. 61% of undergrads take out federal loans to help pay for it.

Admissions

Admit rateNot reported
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads960
Yield (admits who enroll)Not reported
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$21,4932024-25
In-state tuition & fees$7,0082024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$11,6402024-25
4-year grad rate28%
Median earnings, 10yr out$31,088

Out-of-state students pay $4,632 more per year in tuition and fees (1.7x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Where do you stand against Harris-Stowe State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Harris-Stowe State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans61%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out22%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$48,694/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Marketing$53,868/yr
Accounting and Related Services$50,792/yr
Education
Education, General$40,247/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$49,010/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity426
Typical room charge$6,941
Typical board charge$2,750

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPANot reported
Class rankNot reported
RecommendationsNot reported

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Harris-Stowe State University cost?

Harris-Stowe State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $21,493 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

What is out-of-state tuition at Harris-Stowe State University?

For 2024-25, Harris-Stowe State University's published tuition and required fees were $11,640 for out-of-state students and $7,008 for in-state students -- $4,632 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does Harris-Stowe State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Harris-Stowe State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Harris-Stowe State University against another school?

Open the comparison view