College Intel
← Back to colleges

Salem State University

Public

Salem, MA

Visit website ↗

Located in Salem, MA, Salem State University is a public mid-sized school with roughly 4,291 undergraduates. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 96% of applicants get in. Its highest-earning reported major is Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Health Professions and Related Programs), where graduates report median earnings of $95,550/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate96%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads4,291
Yield (admits who enroll)18%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$28,291
4-year grad rate52%
Median earnings, 10yr out$56,662

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Salem State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Salem State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans49%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out61%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$67,551/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$67,789/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$50,260/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$92,380/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$56,509/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$55,808/yr
Education, General$45,568/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$43,621/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$95,550/yr
Health and Medical Administrative Services$55,323/yr
History
History$49,572/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$59,774/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$61,259/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$51,362/yr
Physical Sciences
Chemistry$81,266/yr
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$59,424/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$54,717/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$60,026/yr
Social Sciences
Geography and Cartography$58,593/yr
Political Science and Government$58,499/yr
Sociology$51,573/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$50,397/yr
Visual and Performing Arts, General$32,484/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,706
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Salem State University's acceptance rate?

Salem State University in Salem, MA admits approximately 96% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Salem State University cost?

Salem State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $28,291 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Salem State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Salem State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Salem State University against another school?

Open the comparison view