College Intel
← Back to colleges

Rutgers University-Newark

Public

Newark, NJ

Visit website ↗

Located in Newark, NJ, Rutgers University-Newark is a public mid-sized school with roughly 7,709 undergraduates. Rutgers University-Newark is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 71%. Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services graduates, especially in Computer and Information Sciences, General, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $125,303/year. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate71%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads7,709
Yield (admits who enroll)11%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$35,654
4-year grad rate66%
Median earnings, 10yr out$74,479

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Rutgers University-Newark's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Rutgers University-Newark weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans32%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out70%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Area, Ethnic, Cultural, Gender, and Group Studies
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$55,164/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$68,306/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Finance and Financial Management Services$100,695/yr
Management Information Systems and Services$89,098/yr
Accounting and Related Services$89,087/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$83,606/yr
Marketing$74,813/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Journalism$62,670/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$125,303/yr
Information Science/Studies$87,757/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$55,337/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$66,519/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$87,399/yr
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions$84,376/yr
Health and Medical Administrative Services$59,921/yr
History
History$54,657/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$61,817/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$81,845/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$51,581/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$67,805/yr
Philosophy and Religious Studies
Philosophy$58,891/yr
Physical Sciences
Chemistry$73,245/yr
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$70,106/yr
Physics$67,544/yr
Psychology
Research and Experimental Psychology$59,913/yr
Psychology, General$56,479/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Public Administration and Social Service Professions, Other$67,099/yr
Social Work$56,797/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$86,120/yr
Political Science and Government$63,765/yr
Anthropology$56,468/yr
Sociology$55,197/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$63,679/yr
Music$56,008/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$52,450/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$42,712/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity2,453
Typical room charge$9,095
Typical board charge$5,248

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Rutgers University-Newark's acceptance rate?

Rutgers University-Newark in Newark, NJ admits approximately 71% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Rutgers University-Newark cost?

Rutgers University-Newark's total cost of attendance is reported at $35,654 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Rutgers University-Newark require students to live on campus?

No -- Rutgers University-Newark doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Rutgers University-Newark against another school?

Open the comparison view