College Intel
← Back to colleges

Oakwood University

Private

Huntsville, AL

Visit website ↗

Oakwood University is a private small school in Huntsville, AL, enrolling about 1,153 undergraduates. Admissions are moderately selective here -- roughly 45% of applicants get in. Its highest-earning reported major is Human Resources Management and Services (Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services), where graduates report median earnings of $62,069/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate45%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads1,153
Yield (admits who enroll)38%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$40,176
4-year grad rate47%
Median earnings, 10yr out$42,488

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Oakwood University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Oakwood University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans57%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out28%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Human Resources Management and Services$62,069/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$55,834/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,227
Typical room charge$4,742
Typical board charge$5,358

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Oakwood University's acceptance rate?

Oakwood University in Huntsville, AL admits approximately 45% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Oakwood University cost?

Oakwood University's total cost of attendance is reported at $40,176 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Oakwood University require students to live on campus?

No -- Oakwood University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Oakwood University against another school?

Open the comparison view