College Intel
← Back to colleges

Northern Michigan University

Public

Marquette, MI

Visit website ↗

Northern Michigan University, in Marquette, MI, is a public mid-sized school, enrolling around 6,556 students. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 84% of applicants. Among reported majors, Construction Management shows the strongest outcomes -- $91,682/year in median earnings four years after graduation. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate84%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads6,556
Yield (admits who enroll)32%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$27,841
4-year grad rate52%
Median earnings, 10yr out$47,107

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Northern Michigan University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Northern Michigan University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans46%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out57%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$43,698/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Construction Management$91,682/yr
Marketing$68,157/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$63,730/yr
Accounting and Related Services$62,901/yr
Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations$50,236/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$49,202/yr
Hospitality Administration/Management$45,797/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$47,875/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$90,337/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$46,002/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$45,008/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Construction Engineering Technology/Technician$88,881/yr
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians$82,326/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$39,982/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$77,670/yr
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions$67,522/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$57,165/yr
History
History$34,318/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$59,390/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Behavioral Sciences$57,325/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$50,300/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$47,613/yr
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies$40,825/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$43,349/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$54,836/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$52,179/yr
Political Science and Government$50,520/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$36,228/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity3,052
Typical room charge$6,360
Typical board charge$5,790

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Northern Michigan University's acceptance rate?

Northern Michigan University in Marquette, MI admits approximately 84% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Northern Michigan University cost?

Northern Michigan University's total cost of attendance is reported at $27,841 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Northern Michigan University require students to live on campus?

No -- Northern Michigan University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Northern Michigan University against another school?

Open the comparison view