College Intel
← Back to colleges

Louisiana Tech University

Public

Ruston, LA

Visit website ↗

Louisiana Tech University, in Ruston, LA, is a public large school, enrolling around 8,312 students. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 86% of applicants. Engineering graduates, especially in Engineering, Other, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $105,080/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate86%
SAT range1100–1310
ACT range21–27
Undergrads8,312
Yield (admits who enroll)37%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$24,280
4-year grad rate61%
Median earnings, 10yr out$52,279

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Louisiana Tech University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Louisiana Tech University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans27%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out66%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Agriculture, Agriculture Operations, and Related Sciences
Animal Sciences$36,769/yr
Architecture and Related Services
Architecture and Related Services, Other$53,731/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$59,671/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Finance and Financial Management Services$67,216/yr
Accounting and Related Services$65,284/yr
Management Information Systems and Services$63,474/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$60,949/yr
Marketing$51,118/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Journalism$41,220/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$96,365/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$52,150/yr
Engineering
Engineering, Other$105,080/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$99,526/yr
Chemical Engineering$98,240/yr
Mechanical Engineering$92,457/yr
Industrial Engineering$88,619/yr
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$85,454/yr
Civil Engineering$81,524/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians$87,053/yr
Construction Engineering Technology/Technician$77,558/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$42,447/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$59,081/yr
Health and Medical Administrative Services$52,122/yr
History
History$45,142/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$43,183/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$42,822/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Forestry$65,941/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$53,391/yr
Physical Sciences
Chemistry$58,492/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$37,473/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$51,222/yr
Sociology$44,192/yr
Transportation and Materials Moving
Air Transportation$83,323/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Design and Applied Arts$41,534/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity2,508
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Louisiana Tech University's acceptance rate?

Louisiana Tech University in Ruston, LA admits approximately 86% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Louisiana Tech University?

Admitted students at Louisiana Tech University typically score between 1100–1310 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for Louisiana Tech University?

Admitted students at Louisiana Tech University typically score between 21–27 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Louisiana Tech University cost?

Louisiana Tech University's total cost of attendance is reported at $24,280 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Louisiana Tech University require students to live on campus?

No -- Louisiana Tech University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Louisiana Tech University against another school?

Open the comparison view