College Intel
← Back to colleges

Kentucky State University

Public

Frankfort, KY

Visit website ↗

Kentucky State University, in Frankfort, KY, is a public small school, enrolling around 1,309 students. Kentucky State University is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 96%. Its highest-earning reported major is Criminal Justice and Corrections (Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services), where graduates report median earnings of $46,767/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate96%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT range14–17
Undergrads1,309
Yield (admits who enroll)14%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$21,727
4-year grad rate30%
Median earnings, 10yr out$36,382

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Kentucky State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Kentucky State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans56%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out24%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business/Commerce, General$42,392/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Journalism$42,363/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$34,522/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$46,767/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$42,743/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity915
Typical room charge$3,674
Typical board charge$3,686

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Kentucky State University's acceptance rate?

Kentucky State University in Frankfort, KY admits approximately 96% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What ACT score do I need for Kentucky State University?

Admitted students at Kentucky State University typically score between 14–17 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Kentucky State University cost?

Kentucky State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $21,727 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Kentucky State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Kentucky State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Kentucky State University against another school?

Open the comparison view