College Intel
← Back to colleges

Indiana University-South Bend

Public

South Bend, IN

Visit website ↗

Located in South Bend, IN, Indiana University-South Bend is a public mid-sized school with roughly 3,933 undergraduates. Indiana University-South Bend is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 84%. Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services graduates, especially in Computer Science, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $99,574/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate84%
SAT range950–1190
ACT range21–23
Undergrads3,933
Yield (admits who enroll)38%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$17,3642024-25
In-state tuition & fees$8,4242024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$22,8112024-25
4-year grad rate38%
Median earnings, 10yr out$44,947

Out-of-state students pay $14,387 more per year in tuition and fees (2.7x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Indiana University-South Bend takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Midwest Student Exchange Program

Residents of Indiana, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio and Wisconsin pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition in selected programs. The school decides who qualifies.

Where do you stand against Indiana University-South Bend's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Indiana University-South Bend weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans35%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out49%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$56,512/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business/Commerce, General$64,275/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$44,703/yr
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$36,711/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$99,574/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$47,977/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$45,755/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$84,541/yr
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$71,862/yr
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions$61,436/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$51,778/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$48,815/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$46,521/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$48,344/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$38,663/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity386
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPAConsidered, not required
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Indiana University-South Bend's acceptance rate?

Indiana University-South Bend in South Bend, IN admits approximately 84% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Indiana University-South Bend?

Admitted students at Indiana University-South Bend typically score between 950–1190 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for Indiana University-South Bend?

Admitted students at Indiana University-South Bend typically score between 21–23 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Indiana University-South Bend cost?

Indiana University-South Bend's total cost of attendance is reported at $17,364 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Indiana University-South Bend offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Indiana University-South Bend takes part in the Midwest Student Exchange Program, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Indiana University-South Bend?

For 2024-25, Indiana University-South Bend's published tuition and required fees were $22,811 for out-of-state students and $8,424 for in-state students -- $14,387 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does Indiana University-South Bend require students to live on campus?

No -- Indiana University-South Bend doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Indiana University-South Bend against another school?

Open the comparison view