College Intel
← Back to colleges

Indiana University-Indianapolis

Public

Indianapolis, IN

Visit website ↗

Located in Indianapolis, IN, Indiana University-Indianapolis is a public large school with roughly 13,830 undergraduates. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 76% of applicants. Its highest-earning reported major is Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (Engineering), where graduates report median earnings of $97,841/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate76%
SAT range1030–1240
ACT range21–29
Undergrads13,830
Yield (admits who enroll)27%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$23,316
4-year grad rate54%
Median earnings, 10yr out$55,198

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Indiana University-Indianapolis's numbers?

Check your chances here

How Indiana University-Indianapolis weighs your application

From Indiana University-Indianapolis's own Common Data Set, 2024-25, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
Class rankConsidered
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresConsidered
Application essayNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesNot considered
Talent/abilityNot considered
Character/personal qualitiesConsidered
First generationConsidered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceNot considered
State residencyNot considered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workConsidered
Work experienceConsidered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Not considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how Indiana University-Indianapolis actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Indiana University-Indianapolis weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans33%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out55%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$56,830/yr
Neurobiology and Neurosciences$56,218/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$72,282/yr
Business/Commerce, General$70,903/yr
Hospitality Administration/Management$53,784/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$51,397/yr
Journalism$48,113/yr
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$46,473/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$94,380/yr
Computer and Information Sciences, General$77,983/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services, Other$75,498/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$52,841/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$49,540/yr
Engineering
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$97,841/yr
Computer Engineering$95,884/yr
Engineering, Other$89,261/yr
Mechanical Engineering$88,960/yr
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$88,435/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians$90,782/yr
Architectural Engineering Technologies/Technicians$87,114/yr
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians$85,533/yr
Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians$61,420/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$38,198/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$50,700/yr
American Sign Language$47,003/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$80,783/yr
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$79,722/yr
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions$76,220/yr
Health/Medical Preparatory Programs$62,442/yr
Public Health$57,800/yr
Health and Medical Administrative Services$57,564/yr
History
History$44,850/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$59,541/yr
Security Science and Technology$55,988/yr
Legal Professions and Studies
Legal Support Services$57,262/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$51,718/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$66,203/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$53,688/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$57,203/yr
Physical Sciences
Chemistry$61,687/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$46,904/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Public Administration$60,564/yr
Social Work$50,246/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$68,036/yr
Political Science and Government$56,560/yr
International Relations and National Security Studies$49,069/yr
Sociology$43,678/yr
Anthropology$40,018/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$41,629/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity2,447
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does Indiana University-Indianapolis look for in applicants?

Per Indiana University-Indianapolis's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates rigor of secondary school record, academic GPA as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is Indiana University-Indianapolis's acceptance rate?

Indiana University-Indianapolis in Indianapolis, IN admits approximately 76% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Indiana University-Indianapolis?

Admitted students at Indiana University-Indianapolis typically score between 1030–1240 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for Indiana University-Indianapolis?

Admitted students at Indiana University-Indianapolis typically score between 21–29 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Indiana University-Indianapolis cost?

Indiana University-Indianapolis's total cost of attendance is reported at $23,316 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Indiana University-Indianapolis require students to live on campus?

No -- Indiana University-Indianapolis doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Indiana University-Indianapolis against another school?

Open the comparison view