College Intel
← Back to colleges

Hood College

Private

Frederick, MD

Visit website ↗

Hood College is a private small school in Frederick, MD, enrolling about 1,194 undergraduates. Hood College is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 78%. Its highest-earning reported major is Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Health Professions and Related Programs), where graduates report median earnings of $92,955/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate78%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads1,194
Yield (admits who enroll)13%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$61,219
4-year grad rate56%
Median earnings, 10yr out$57,089

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Hood College's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Hood College weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans68%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out70%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$53,886/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$78,503/yr
Education
Special Education and Teaching$50,200/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$50,126/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$92,955/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$60,022/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$65,110/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$44,411/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity760
Typical room charge$6,800
Typical board charge$6,800

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPAConsidered, not required
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Hood College's acceptance rate?

Hood College in Frederick, MD admits approximately 78% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Hood College cost?

Hood College's total cost of attendance is reported at $61,219 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Hood College require students to live on campus?

No -- Hood College doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Hood College against another school?

Open the comparison view