College Intel
← Back to colleges

Governors State University

Public

University Park, IL

Visit website ↗

Governors State University, in University Park, IL, is a public small school, enrolling around 2,556 students. It's moderately selective, admitting about 48% of applicants. Its highest-earning reported major is Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Health Professions and Related Programs), where graduates report median earnings of $88,391/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate48%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads2,556
Yield (admits who enroll)29%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$24,227
4-year grad rate21%
Median earnings, 10yr out$58,169

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Governors State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Governors State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans38%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out45%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$61,223/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$59,562/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$47,475/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$79,154/yr
Computer and Information Sciences, General$70,895/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$46,895/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$50,426/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$88,391/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$58,455/yr
Health and Medical Administrative Services$53,227/yr
Public Health$51,027/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$55,811/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$50,703/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$47,048/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$56,123/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity274
Typical room charge$8,000
Typical board charge$3,000

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Governors State University's acceptance rate?

Governors State University in University Park, IL admits approximately 48% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Governors State University cost?

Governors State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $24,227 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Governors State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Governors State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Governors State University against another school?

Open the comparison view