College Intel
← Back to colleges

Eastern Washington University

Public

Cheney, WA

Visit website ↗

Eastern Washington University, in Cheney, WA, is a public mid-sized school, enrolling around 6,222 students. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 91% of applicants. Among reported majors, Computer and Information Sciences, General shows the strongest outcomes -- $95,817/year in median earnings four years after graduation. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate91%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads6,222
Yield (admits who enroll)31%
Next deadlineSep 1, 2027 (RD)

Application deadlines for Fall 2027 entry

  • Regular Decision: Sep 1, 2027

Confirm on Eastern Washington University's own admissions site before you apply.

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$24,4782024-25
In-state tuition & fees$8,5862024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$25,9592024-25
4-year grad rate45%
Median earnings, 10yr out$57,897

Out-of-state students pay $17,373 more per year in tuition and fees (3.0x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Eastern Washington University takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Western Undergraduate Exchange

Students from Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Pacific territories pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition. Each school sets its own requirements, often a GPA minimum, and some majors are left out.

Where do you stand against Eastern Washington University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Eastern Washington University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans35%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out63%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences$60,556/yr
Biology, General$56,083/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$75,927/yr
Management Information Systems and Services$67,534/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$66,710/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$65,503/yr
Marketing$64,677/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$50,969/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$95,817/yr
Computer Software and Media Applications$46,104/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$57,915/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$55,671/yr
Special Education and Teaching$55,244/yr
Engineering
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$85,599/yr
Mechanical Engineering$85,495/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Engineering/Engineering-Related Technologies/Technicians, Other$84,265/yr
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians$76,693/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$41,541/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$49,391/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions$75,533/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$65,245/yr
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions$58,786/yr
Health and Medical Administrative Services$56,244/yr
History
History$50,286/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General$56,507/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$58,106/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management$51,206/yr
Psychology
Research and Experimental Psychology$54,974/yr
Psychology, General$50,125/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$60,696/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$60,954/yr
Sociology$56,992/yr
Criminology$55,621/yr
Political Science and Government$53,502/yr
International Relations and National Security Studies$50,238/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$39,404/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,788
Typical room charge$8,090
Typical board charge$5,850

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Eastern Washington University's acceptance rate?

Eastern Washington University in Cheney, WA admits approximately 91% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Eastern Washington University cost?

Eastern Washington University's total cost of attendance is reported at $24,478 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Eastern Washington University offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Eastern Washington University takes part in the Western Undergraduate Exchange, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Eastern Washington University?

For 2024-25, Eastern Washington University's published tuition and required fees were $25,959 for out-of-state students and $8,586 for in-state students -- $17,373 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

When is the application deadline for Eastern Washington University?

Eastern Washington University's deadlines are Regular Decision Sep 1, 2027, per its own published admissions calendar.

Does Eastern Washington University require students to live on campus?

No -- Eastern Washington University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Eastern Washington University against another school?

Open the comparison view