College Intel
← Back to colleges

Central Washington University

Public

Ellensburg, WA

Visit website ↗

Located in Ellensburg, WA, Central Washington University is a public mid-sized school with roughly 7,833 undergraduates. Central Washington University is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 91%. Among reported majors, Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians shows the strongest outcomes -- $97,869/year in median earnings four years after graduation. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate91%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads7,833
Yield (admits who enroll)24%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$28,8162024-25
In-state tuition & fees$9,4172024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$27,5262024-25
4-year grad rate52%
Median earnings, 10yr out$61,580

Out-of-state students pay $18,109 more per year in tuition and fees (2.9x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Central Washington University takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Western Undergraduate Exchange

Students from Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Pacific territories pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition. Each school sets its own requirements, often a GPA minimum, and some majors are left out.

Where do you stand against Central Washington University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Central Washington University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans31%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out62%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences$60,299/yr
Biology, General$56,154/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Construction Management$97,651/yr
Accounting and Related Services$74,442/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$73,036/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$66,538/yr
Communication and Media Studies$56,862/yr
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$50,318/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$95,368/yr
Computer and Information Sciences, General$72,838/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$61,604/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$59,659/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians$97,869/yr
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians$84,871/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$43,101/yr
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$41,971/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Apparel and Textiles$65,815/yr
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$54,858/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$97,263/yr
Public Health$62,435/yr
History
History$45,990/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$60,761/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Nutrition Sciences$56,735/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$50,776/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$47,979/yr
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management$43,480/yr
Physical Sciences
Chemistry$75,905/yr
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$53,987/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$54,530/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Human Services, General$54,318/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$88,799/yr
Political Science and Government$64,361/yr
Sociology$63,608/yr
Social Sciences, General$58,680/yr
Geography and Cartography$53,081/yr
Anthropology$44,089/yr
Transportation and Materials Moving
Air Transportation$74,997/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Music$51,008/yr
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$45,152/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$40,251/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$33,800/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity4,249
Typical room charge$7,700
Typical board charge$8,116

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Central Washington University's acceptance rate?

Central Washington University in Ellensburg, WA admits approximately 91% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Central Washington University cost?

Central Washington University's total cost of attendance is reported at $28,816 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Central Washington University offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Central Washington University takes part in the Western Undergraduate Exchange, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Central Washington University?

For 2024-25, Central Washington University's published tuition and required fees were $27,526 for out-of-state students and $9,417 for in-state students -- $18,109 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does Central Washington University require students to live on campus?

No -- Central Washington University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Central Washington University against another school?

Open the comparison view